Forty-Three

February 12, 2012 § Leave a comment

Day 43.

Like me. For who I am; not who you think I should be. Laugh at my stupid jokes, savor everything I bake; worship the ground I walk on. Wait up for me at night, be there when I cannot sleep, and do not disappear when I awake. Do not let me out of your mind or away from your heart.

Hold me – like you mean it. When the sky falls in, as the world comes crumbling down, put your arms around me, and make me feel safe. If I get scared and run away, chase after me. Do not let me go, no matter what. As I kick and scream pull me closer. If I run away, take my hand and lead me back.

Know me. Finish my sentences, and read my mind. Pick me up when I am blue, like only you can. Draw me out from within my shell. Push me to chase my dreams. Have my back.

Love me – unconditionally. Despite all of my faults and failures, do not give up. Give me a 2nd, 3rd, 1000th chance. Mean it when you say “for better or for worse.” Do not prove to be just a handful of empty promises. In life’s up and downs be there by my side. Fifty years from now look into my eyes like you did on that first day.

Be my Dream Come True, my Prince Charming, my Best Friend. Run into me around the next corner. Show up when I least expect it. Whisk me off of my feet. And let’s live happily ever after.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Forty-Three at Lost In the Separation.

meta